A watershed is an area of land that is drained by a river and its tributaries into a particular body of water such as a pond, lake or ocean. A watershed is made up of a mixture of habitats that influence one another. These habitats include forests, wildlife, creeks, rivers and lakes, farms and even cities or towns.

The South Georgian Bay Lake Simcoe Source Protection Region includes four watersheds: Black Severn, Lake Simcoe, Nottawasaga Valley and Severn Sound.

These watersheds are protected by our Region’s Source Protection Plan.

Water Cycle