Privacy / Contact Us

Source Water Protection

Our Watersheds

The South Georgian Bay-Lake Simcoe Source Protection Region contains four watersheds and spans over 10,000 km2, from the Oak Ridges Moraine in the south to the Canadian Shield in the north and is comprised of the Black-Severn, Lake Simcoe, Nottawasaga Valley and Severn Sound watersheds. The region contains portions of the Niagara Escarpment, Oak Ridges Moraine, Oro Moraine, Peterborough Drumlin Fields, Simcoe Uplands and Lowlands and the Canadian Shield. The region include fifty-two municipalities and three First Nations communities with over 200 municipal supply wells, 16 municipal surface water intakes, and more than 50,000 private wells. The region is very complex and diverse in terms of geology, physiology, population, and development pressures, with a many, often conflicting, water uses including drinking water supply, recreation, irrigation, agriculture, commercial and industrial uses, as well as ecosystem needs.

These differences represent a significant challenge for the development of a source water protection plan because of the associated variability of available information upon which to base the technical work, the differing stresses on water resources related to development pressure and population growth, and the differences in the nature, density and locations of threats to the quality and quantity of water resources.

There are four agencies tasked with managing this project: .The Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority (lead agency), The Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority, The Severn Sound Environmental Association as well as the Black-Severn watershed (represented by members of the municipalities within the watershed). Each represents their respective watersheds within the region.